Bashō is all over the place today!

While looking for an article about English language education in Japan, I saw the photo accompanying this article:

http://thediplomat.com/2014/09/history-and-the-possibility-of-taiwan-japan-relations/

It’s a photo of former Taiwanese President Lee Teng-hui visiting a Bashō monument. If I’m not mistaken it’s the monument on the Sumida River footpath just behind the Bashō Kinenkan in Tokyo’s Koto neighborhood. The last time I was there was 5 years ago when I traveled in  Bashō’s footsteps with a group of teachers from America, my grad school advisor, Dr. Laurel Rasplica Rodd, and my “classmate” Kaori Miyashita-Theado. We took a group photo there–but I don’t have a copy of it for some reason. Here’s a photo I took though:

Bashō monument along the Sumida River by the Bashō Kinenkan

Bashō monument along the Sumida River by the Bashō Kinenkan

It’s cool to see world leaders visiting sites like this. Actually, I can not think of anything else in this neighborhood that is worth visiting or “famous,” which makes me think that he went specifically to see this, but who knows…

Leave a Reply

